Chiller Advice

We build a range of home jellyfish aquariums which are available through all good aquarium shops.
http://www.cubicaquarium.com
Forum rules
Please send any requests for spare parts or warranty claims to info@cubicaquarium.com. Warranty claims cannot be handled through this forum.

Chiller Advice

Postby Alayna » 06 Feb 2014, 19:27

Hello, I bought my cubic aquarium a short while ago, and am very happy with the aesthetics of the tank!

After having set it all up and having filled it with RO/aquarium salt water I have discovered that the temperature is always running high. The supplier I want to get the jellies from reccommends a temperature of between 21-24 degrees celcius for the tank. Unfortunately I have no way to control the ambient room temperature as the tank is at my workplace, and therefore it is constantly at a high temperature (26-27 celcius).

I'm fairly new to aquariums and so all I know is that I need a chiller to maintain proper temperature before I can think of getting my jellies. As the tank is at a workplace it is very very important that it is quiet. Does anyone have any suggestions for a brand and hp of chiller that would be able to cool it reliably to this degree and is as quiet as possible?

On another note do I still need to hook up an inline pump from the cubic connections at the back? If so what pump should I be looking at to use with the chiller?

One final question, what type of tubing and connections would I need to connect it all together, do these come included with the chiller?

Thanks for any help you can provide in advance!
Alayna

Re: Chiller Advice

Postby Cubic » 07 Feb 2014, 08:08

Hi Alayna

Glad you like the tank!

Here is an image of a tank we had hooked up to a chiller in the office. Sorry its a bit messy, its the only one I could find because its winter here now so we don't have any chillers connected up at this time.

Chiller.jpg
Chiller